# Musculoskeletal system infection

- Category: infectious
- Review status: reviewed (every claim checked against a document named on this page)
- Sources: Egyptian National Drug Formulary - Antimicrobial 2023, flucloxacillin monograph (antimicrobial-2023.pdf page index 360, printed p351) · Egyptian National Drug Formulary - antimicrobial-2023.pdf, Clindamycin monograph (chapter PDF p287) · Egyptian National Drug Formulary - antimicrobial-2023.pdf, Flucloxacillin monograph (chapter PDF p361) · Antimicrobial recommendations and dosages for secondary bacterial skin infection. Annex 3, in: Clinical management and infection prevention and control for mpox: living guideline [Internet]. Geneva: World Health Organization; 2025 May-. NBK616035.
- Verified date: 2026-08

## Verified against

- Egyptian National Drug Formulary - Antimicrobial 2023, flucloxacillin monograph (antimicrobial-2023.pdf page index 360, printed p351)
- Egyptian National Drug Formulary - antimicrobial-2023.pdf, Clindamycin monograph (chapter PDF p287)
- Antimicrobial recommendations and dosages for secondary bacterial skin infection. Annex 3, in: Clinical management and infection prevention and control for mpox: living guideline [Internet]. Geneva: World Health Organization; 2025 May-. NBK616035.

## Treatment metadata

- Flucloxacillin — oral.solid
- Clindamycin — oral.solid

## Complete treatment card

```text
MUSCULOSKELETAL SYSTEM INFECTION
Sources: Egyptian National Drug Formulary - Antimicrobial 2023, flucloxacillin monograph
         (antimicrobial-2023.pdf page index 360, printed p351) · Egyptian National Drug Formulary -
         antimicrobial-2023.pdf, Clindamycin monograph (chapter PDF p287) · Egyptian National Drug
         Formulary - antimicrobial-2023.pdf, Flucloxacillin monograph (chapter PDF p361) ·
         Antimicrobial recommendations and dosages for secondary bacterial skin infection. Annex 3,
         in: Clinical management and infection prevention and control for mpox: living guideline
         [Internet]. Geneva: World Health Organization; 2025 May-. NBK616035.
Review status: REVIEWED against 2 sources listed above  (2026-08)

1. FLUCLOXACILLIN                                         [1st line]
   Adult    250 mg by mouth four times daily on an empty stomach; may be doubled to 500 mg four
            times daily in severe infection. For osteomyelitis the formulary allows up to 8 g daily
            in 3 or 4 divided doses - it does not state the route for that, so treat it as
            specialist-directed, usually inpatient, dosing. - Not specified in the formulary for
            this indication
   Peds     Oral, for staphylococcal skin, ear and chest infection (BNFC bands quoted by the
            formulary): 1 month to 1 year, 62.5 to 125 mg; 2 to 9 years, 125 to 250 mg; 10 years and
            older, 250 to 500 mg - all four times daily. These are fixed mg bands by age, not
            weight-calculated. Bone and joint infection is dosed differently and intravenously (50
            mg/kg, maximum 2 g, every 6 hours from 1 month of age) and is specialist/inpatient care
            - do not calculate it on this oral row.
   Source   Egyptian National Drug Formulary - Antimicrobial 2023, flucloxacillin monograph
            (antimicrobial-2023.pdf page index 360, printed p351)
   Why      Flucloxacillin is the first-choice oral antibiotic for staphylococcal soft-tissue and
            musculoskeletal infections that a GP can manage without hospital referral.
   Caution  In severe renal impairment a dose reduction may be necessary; in children with
            creatinine clearance under 10 mL/min give the normal dose no more often than every 8
            hours.
            Take on an empty stomach, 30 to 60 minutes before food or at least 2 hours after.
            Hepatitis and cholestatic jaundice can occur and may be delayed up to 2 months after
            stopping; risk is greater in older patients and in courses longer than 2 weeks.
            Signs of joint involvement (possible septic arthritis), rapidly spreading infection,
            systemic fever, diabetic foot involvement, immunocompromise.
            Do not use if there is true penicillin allergy - use clindamycin or another alternative
            instead.
            Signs of joint involvement, rapidly spreading infection, systemic fever, or diabetic
            foot involvement need urgent referral rather than oral outpatient treatment alone.
            Higher IV doses are used for osteomyelitis and severe infection - refer for IV therapy
            rather than treating deep bone/joint infection with the standard oral dose.
            Reduce dose in severe renal impairment.
   Egypt    FLUMOCIN 250MG 12CAPS.           UP PHARMA            6.20 EGP (0.52/unit)
                -> ! also contains amoxicillin
            AMOFLUX 125/125MG 12 CAPS.       RAMEDA > DELT...     8.25 EGP (0.69/unit)
                -> ! also contains amoxicillin
            FLUCAMOX 250MG 12CAPS.           SEDICO               8.25 EGP (0.69/unit)
                -> ! also contains amoxicillin
            FLUMOCIN 500MG 8 CAPS.           UP PHARMA            6.00 EGP (0.75/unit)
                -> ! also contains amoxicillin
            CURAFLUX 125/125 MG 12 CAPS.     RAMEDA > PIONEER    12.50 EGP (1.04/unit)
                -> ! also contains amoxicillin
            AMOFLUX 250/250MG 16 CAPS.       RAMEDA > PIONEER    18.00 EGP (1.12/unit)
                -> ! also contains amoxicillin
            HI-FLUCIL 250/250MG 16 CAPS.     CID                 20.00 EGP (1.25/unit)
                -> ! also contains amoxicillin
            AMPIFLUX 500 MG 12 CAPS.         PHARCO              16.00 EGP (1.33/unit)
                -> ! also contains ampicillin

2. CLINDAMYCIN                                            [2nd line]
   Adult    150-300 mg by mouth every 6 hours. - As directed by response; typically at least 5-7
            days, longer for bone/joint infection under specialist guidance.
   Peds     Paediatric dosing is specialist-set and is not reproduced here (the formulary gives
            detailed weight-based paediatric regimens).
   Source   Egyptian National Drug Formulary - antimicrobial-2023.pdf, Clindamycin monograph
            (chapter PDF p287)
   Why      Clindamycin is a reasonable alternative to flucloxacillin for musculoskeletal/soft-
            tissue staphylococcal infection, particularly in penicillin allergy or when anaerobic
            organisms are suspected.
   Caution  There is a risk of Clostridioides difficile-associated diarrhoea - stop and seek advice
            if severe or persistent diarrhoea develops.
            Use as the alternative when flucloxacillin cannot be used (e.g. penicillin allergy) or
            when anaerobic cover is also needed.
            Deep bone/joint infection (osteomyelitis, septic arthritis) needs a higher-severity
            dosing tier and urgent specialist referral rather than routine outpatient treatment.
   Egypt    ADCOCLINDACE 150 MG 16 CAPS.     ARAB DRUG COM...    14.50 EGP (0.91/unit)
            ALFACLINDAMYCIN 150 MG 10 CAPS.  ATCO PHARMA >...    14.50 EGP (1.45/unit)
            ADCOCLINDACE 300 MG 16 CAPS.     ARAB DRUG COM...    24.00 EGP (1.50/unit)
            CLINACYN 300MG 16 CAPS.          SIGMA > EGYPT...    31.50 EGP (1.97/unit)
            MEPACLIND 150MG 16 CAPS.         MEPACO              48.00 EGP (3.00/unit)
            MEPACLIND 300MG 8 CAPS.          MEPACO              38.00 EGP (4.75/unit)
            ALFACLINDAMYCIN 300 MG 10 CAPS.  ATCO PHARMA >...    69.00 EGP (6.90/unit)
            DALACIN C 300MG 10 CAPS.         PFIZER             114.00 EGP (11.40/unit)
            KLENDABIOTICAM 1 % TOP. SOLUTION PANAX PHARMA         8.50 EGP
                -> ? strength differs, ? different route - not oral solid
            ADCOCLINDACE 10MG/ML TOP. SOL.   ARAB DRUG COM...    12.00 EGP
                -> ? strength differs, ? different route - not oral solid

Prices are indicative (dataset snapshot 2026-06); verify with the pharmacy.
```

---

Dawaa Reference is a reference for prescribers, not a medical device, and does not replace clinical judgement.

[Privacy policy](/privacy)
