FLUCLOXACILLIN
Formoral.solid
250 mg by mouth four times daily on an empty stomach; may be doubled to 500 mg four times daily in severe infection. For osteomyelitis the formulary allows up to 8 g daily in 3 or 4 divided doses - it does not state the route for that, so treat it as specialist-directed, usually inpatient, dosing. - Not specified in the formulary for this indication
Oral, for staphylococcal skin, ear and chest infection (BNFC bands quoted by the formulary): 1 month to 1 year, 62.5 to 125 mg; 2 to 9 years, 125 to 250 mg; 10 years and older, 250 to 500 mg - all four times daily. These are fixed mg bands by age, not weight-calculated. Bone and joint infection is dosed differently and intravenously (50 mg/kg, maximum 2 g, every 6 hours from 1 month of age) and is specialist/inpatient care - do not calculate it on this oral row.
Egyptian National Drug Formulary - Antimicrobial 2023, flucloxacillin monograph (antimicrobial-2023.pdf page index 360, printed p351)
Flucloxacillin is the first-choice oral antibiotic for staphylococcal soft-tissue and musculoskeletal infections that a GP can manage without hospital referral.
- In severe renal impairment a dose reduction may be necessary; in children with creatinine clearance under 10 mL/min give the normal dose no more often than every 8 hours.
- Take on an empty stomach, 30 to 60 minutes before food or at least 2 hours after.
- Hepatitis and cholestatic jaundice can occur and may be delayed up to 2 months after stopping; risk is greater in older patients and in courses longer than 2 weeks.
- Signs of joint involvement (possible septic arthritis), rapidly spreading infection, systemic fever, diabetic foot involvement, immunocompromise.
- Do not use if there is true penicillin allergy - use clindamycin or another alternative instead.
- Signs of joint involvement, rapidly spreading infection, systemic fever, or diabetic foot involvement need urgent referral rather than oral outpatient treatment alone.
- Higher IV doses are used for osteomyelitis and severe infection - refer for IV therapy rather than treating deep bone/joint infection with the standard oral dose.
- Reduce dose in severe renal impairment.
| Egyptian brand | Manufacturer | Indicative price |
|---|---|---|
| FLUMOCIN 250MG 12CAPS.! also contains amoxicillin | UP PHARMA | 6.20 EGP (0.52/unit) |
| AMOFLUX 125/125MG 12 CAPS.! also contains amoxicillin | RAMEDA > DELTA PHARMA | 8.25 EGP (0.69/unit) |
| FLUCAMOX 250MG 12CAPS.! also contains amoxicillin | SEDICO | 8.25 EGP (0.69/unit) |
| FLUMOCIN 500MG 8 CAPS.! also contains amoxicillin | UP PHARMA | 6.00 EGP (0.75/unit) |
| CURAFLUX 125/125 MG 12 CAPS.! also contains amoxicillin | RAMEDA > PIONEER | 12.50 EGP (1.04/unit) |
| AMOFLUX 250/250MG 16 CAPS.! also contains amoxicillin | RAMEDA > PIONEER | 18.00 EGP (1.12/unit) |
| HI-FLUCIL 250/250MG 16 CAPS.! also contains amoxicillin | CID | 20.00 EGP (1.25/unit) |
| AMPIFLUX 500 MG 12 CAPS.! also contains ampicillin | PHARCO | 16.00 EGP (1.33/unit) |